Program format: The Santa Fe Conference on Rock Magnetism features an open, informal, discussion-oriented format, and serial session arrangement (i.e., no concurrent sessions). Two keynote presentations, featuring speakers from outside of rock-/paleomagnetism or with broad interdisciplinary expertise, introduce the major conference themes, with an emphasis on large-scale context and opportunities for magnetic research to contribute to wider geoscience issues. Working sessions begin with a limited number of short invited talks, designed to set the stage for in-depth discussion. The emphasis is not on formal presentation of completed research; rather it is on recognition of present problems and opportunities for future progress. Approximately two hours are allotted for the post-presentation discussions. There is no formal scheduling of contributed presentations, but all conference participants are encouraged to be prepared to contribute to discussion of the major themes.


Wednesday, June 25

2:30 - 5:00     Check-in and registration for those arriving early for field trip



Thursday, June 26

8:30-3:00 (approx)   Field trip


2:30-5:00       Check-in and registration for non-field trip participants


7:00              Welcome and Opening Comments

                          Bruce Moskowitz, IRM, University of Minnesota


7:10               Keynote lecture    Frieder Klein (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, MA, USA): Magnetite in Seafloor Serpentinite


8:30               Reception following the lecture



Friday, June 27

9:00              Morning Session:  Ocean crust

Chairs:  Julie Bowles (University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee), Gary Acton (Sam Houston State University)

Masako Tominaga (Michigan State University), title TBA (Invited)

Julie Carlut (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France), title TBA (Invited)

Jeff Gee (Scripps Institution of Oceanography), title TBA (Invited)


1:30              Afternoon Session: Diagenesis, alteration and remagnetization

Chairs: Doug Elmore (University of Oklahoma), Charly Aubourg (Université de Pau, France)

 Jean-Pierre Valet (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France), early diagenesis, title TBA (Invited)

Mark Dekkers (Fort Hoofddijk, Utrecht, The Netherlands), iron sulfides, aspects of recognizing remagnetization, diagenesis and magnetotactic bacteria, title TBA (Invited)

Shannon Dulin (University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK, USA), paleoweathering surfaces, title TBA (Invited)


    Evening Free



Saturday, June 28

9:00            Morning Session:  Magnetic fabrics

Chairs: Ken Kodama (Lehigh University), Bjarne Almquist (Uppsala Universitet, Sweden)

Josep M. Parés (CENIEH - Centro Nacional de Investigación sobre la Evolución Humana, Burgos, Spain), sedimentary fabrics, title TBA  (Invited)

Dario Bilardello (IRM, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA), inclination shallowing and anisotropy, title TBA (Invited)


Edgardo Cañón-Tapia (CICESE - Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada, México), igneous fabrics, title TBA (Invited)

Arlo Weil (Bryn Mawr), title TBA (Invited)


1:30            Afternoon Session:  Fundamental rock magnetism: Problems and opportunities                    

Chairs: Aleksey Smirnov (Michigan Technological University), Michael Winklhofer (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität, München)

Richard Harrison (University of Cambridge), micromagnetics and magnetic microscopy, title TBA (Invited)

Liao Chang (Australian National University), current challenges with understanding greigite magnetism, title TBA (Invited)

Julie Bowles (University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee), title TBA (Invited)



    Evening Free


Please see the FORC Workshop page for additional information.

Sunday, June 29

7:30 - 9:00   continental breakfast, Junior Commons


9:00            Morning session: FORCs part 1

Chair: Josh Feinberg (University of Minnesota)


9:10            Keynote lecture    Richard Harrison (University of Cambridge, UK): TBA


10:30         (break)


1:30            Afternoon Session: FORCs part 2

Chair: Josh Feinberg (University of Minnesota)


David Heslop (Australian National University), title TBA (Invited)

Michael Winklhofer (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität, München), title TBA (Invited)

Ramon Egli (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität, München), title TBA (Invited)